Saskatchewan is a prairie province in Canada, which has an area of 588,276 square kilometers (227,100 sq mi). Saskatchewan is bounded on the west by Alberta, on the north by the Northwest Territories, on the east by Manitoba, and on the south by the states of Montana and North Dakota.

As of December 2010, the population of Saskatchewan was estimated at 1,049,701. Residents primarily live in the southern half of the province. Of the total population, 257,300 live in the province’s largest city, Saskatoon, while 210,000 live in the provincial capital, Regina. Other major cities include Prince Albert, Moose Jaw, Yorkton, Swift Current and North Battleford.

Saskatchewan was first explored by Europeans in 1690 and settled in 1774; prior to that, it was populated by several indigenous tribes. It became a province in 1905. Saskatchewan’s current premier is Brad Wall and its lieutenant-governor is Gordon Barnhart. Its major industries are agriculture, mining, and energy. (Source: Vikipedia)

Capital city: Regina

Economy: Wheat, beef cattle and hogs, forestry, food products, machinery, petroleum (oil), uranium, potash Known as: Known as Canada’s breadbasket with 40% of the country’s arable land; the second main producer of oil in Canada ; the main producer of uranium in the world; the largest potash mine in the world.

Saskatchewan’s agricultural land area encompasses more than 60 million acres.

Related Website: